## SPRINGS VALLEY COMMUNITY SCHOOLS BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES SPECIAL BOARD MEETING AUGUST 28, 2023

## **Executive Session**

The Springs Valley School Board met in Executive Session at 5:30 PM on Monday, August 28, 2023 in the Springs Valley High School Auditorium. Board members Mr. Chris Burton, Mr. Dustin Farris, Mr. Justin R. Wininger, Mr. Todd Marshall, Mr. Joe Lynch, Mr. Ralph Purkhiser, and Mr. Justin L. Wininger were present. Dr. Trevor Apple was also in attendance.

During the Executive Session, the Board received information about prospective employees, and discussed job performance evaluation, strategy with respect to collective bargaining, school safety and security, personnel, and litigation. No subject matters were discussed in the Executive Session other than the subject matters specified in the public notice.

## **Gymnasium Renovation Hearing**

The Springs Valley School Board met for a Gymnasium Renovation Hearing at 6:00 PM in the Springs Valley High School Auditorium. All of the above, as well as Dr. Jeff Kerby, Mrs. Felicia Wolfington, Mrs. Peggy Simmons, and Mr. John Hawkins were present.

Mr. Burton called the meeting to order with the Pledge of Allegiance and a Moment of Silence.

The hearing was opened for public comment on the renovation plans to tear down and reconstruct the locker rooms. Mr. Jeff Lane, Orange County Historian and French Lick Resort Historian Archivist, read a letter he wrote to the Deputy State Historic Preservation Officer of the Division of the Historical Preservation & Archeology in Indianapolis. His opinion was that the historical significance and integrity of the gymnasium section of the building will not be affected by the renovation project.

With no other comments from the public, Mr. Justin R. Wininger made a motion to close the public hearing. Mr. Purkhiser seconded. The motion passed 7-0.

## **Regular Session**

The Springs Valley School Board met in Regular Session at 6:04 PM in the Springs Valley High School Auditorium. All of the above, as well as Dr. Jeff Kerby, Mrs. Felicia Wolfington, and Mrs. Peggy Simmons were present.

Dr. Apple stated that as authorized at the August 14, 2023 board meeting regarding the 2024 budget, Form 3 has been published on Gateway, and the School Bus Replacement Plan and the Capital Projects Plan have been posted on the school's website and Gateway, thus making the budget process compliant with the Department of Local Government Finance. Tonight's hearing is for the purpose of allowing the public to ask questions or make comments regarding the proposed 2024 budget. Dr. Apple advised that board members have received all documents necessary for the budget adoption on September 11, 2023 including copies of resolutions and documents that will require signatures. On behalf of the board, Dr. Apple opened the public hearing for the 2024 budget, the Bus Replacement Plan, and the Capital Projects Plan, and asked for comments or questions from the public. No patrons addressed the board.

A consent agenda for personnel items was presented by Dr. Apple as follows: 1) Employ Tori Garrison as band administrative assistant at \$12.85 per hour, 29 hours per week for 12 weeks then 32 hours per week thereafter, effective August 21, 2023. 2) Approve Amanda Kelley as drama club volunteer pending a background check. 3) Approve Lindsay Russell as volunteer elementary cheer coach. Mr. Lynch made the motion. Mr. Marshall seconded. The motion passed 7–0.

Dr. Apple recommended approval of the following ECA positons as a consent agenda item: National Honor Society, Lydia Casey at \$400.00; FCCLA, Jolynne Cruz at \$600.00; FFA,

Hannah Schultz at \$600.00; SADD, Amber Dorsam at \$600.00; Senior Chairperson, Stacy Denbo at \$600.00; Senior Sponsor, Darren Kerns at \$400.00; Junior Chairperson, Lindsay Pritchett at \$600.00; Junior Sponsor, Jolynne Cruz at \$400.00; Junior Sponsor, Summer Mueller at \$400.00; Sophomore Chairperson, Kerry Lueken at \$200.00; Freshman Chairperson, Jill Stephens at \$200.00; Fine Arts Chair, Abby Laux at \$450.00; Math Chair, Kerry Lueken at \$450.00; Science Chair, Chad Goldman at \$450.00; Language Arts Chair, Lydia Casey at \$450.00; Social Studies Chair, Darren Kerns at \$450.00; Guidance Chair, Stacy Denbo at \$450.00; P.E. Chair, Jonathon Bowles at \$450.00; Special Education Chair, Jill Hammond at \$450.00; CTE Chair, Jolynne Cruz at \$450.00; Accelerated Blackhawks Program, Darla Carnes at \$150.00, Monica Foxx at \$150.00, Taylor Neukam at \$150.00; Elementary Math Bowl, Taylor Neukam at \$400.00; Elementary Spelling Bowl, Beth Hall at \$400.00; NCA Co-Chairman, Beth Cave at \$600.00, Tiff McGee at \$600.00, Julie Woolsey at \$600.00, Summer Mueller at \$600.00; Professional DEV/Tech Coach, Beth Cave at \$250.00, Monica Foxx at \$250.00, Jessica Roberts at \$500.00; Elementary Musical Director, Lori Chestnut at \$1,000.00; Elementary Music Program, Stephanie Herrera at \$150.00, Elisha Holland at \$150.00, Harley Gilbert at \$150.00, Mallory Hall at \$150.0, Presley Neukam at \$150.00, Caity Pierce at \$150.00, Beth Cave at \$150.00, Rita Hinkle at \$150.00, Erin Carnes at \$150.00, Jason Lowe at \$150.00, Jennifer Hill at \$150.00, Vanessa Masden at \$150.00; H.S. Academic Coach Chair, Abby Laux at \$300.00; H.S. Subject Area Coaches, Leslie Crow at \$500.00, Kerry Lueken at \$500.00, Darren Kerns at \$500.00, Abby Laux at \$500.00; Dual Credit/AP, Kerry Lueken at \$2,000.00, Lydia Casey at \$2000.00, Abby Laux at \$2000.00, Summer Mueller at \$2000.00; Drama Director, Donna Lumley at \$1,200.00; Yearbook, Tiffani Stemle at \$750.00, Auston Matricardi at \$750.00; Media Services Director, Tiffani Stemle at \$2,000.00. Mr. Justin L. Wininger made the motion. Mr. Justin R. Wininger seconded. The motion passed 7-0.

With no other business before the board,	Mr. Justin R. Wininger motioned to	adjourn.
Mr. Justin L. Wininger seconded, and the	neeting adjourned at 6:07 PM.	
Ç		